You’re a vegan? Where do you shop?

At a grocery store.

Glad we’ve gotten that out of the way.

For real though, I’ve gotten this question several times in the past couple of weeks and while it seems odd to me, I can’t exactly blame someone for posing the question. My shopping habits have changed significantly over the years through every diet overhaul, and I can’t say that I see a lot of the grocery store when I go; like every health magazine suggests, I only shop the perimeter, except in the cases when I need to get toiletries or dried goods (beans, spices, etc.).

I also don’t shop at any fancy health stores often (though I REALLY like to). There really aren’t any good ones where I live—the only ones around here sell vitamins and pre-packaged foods that are meant to bamboozle people who are looking to eat healthier (buy an f-ing apple and some kale). Also, have you ever noticed that people LOSE THEIR SHIT in Whole Foods? Seriously, people don’t know what to do when they get in the door, and no matter how big the store, it’s always crowded and nobody pays attention to anyone else. But I’ll let you in on a secret: Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s and any other store in the same vein is just like every other grocery store in that you must stick mainly to the perimeter if you are to buy the healthiest products. The exception again, is dry ingredients and some things in the bulk foods section are really fantastic. Remember: just because it’s vegan or gluten free or sugar free doesn’t mean it’s good for you… particularly if it’s in a package (the fewer ingredients, the better).

This time of the year is great for farmer’s markets, though, so you’ll find me there more often than not (buy local people, it’s important).

If the bulk of your grocery list is not produce, then you are most likely at risk for some serious health issues. The rest of the store may be cheap and conveniently packaged, but not so convenient for your body to grapple with.

I managed to hit up a farmer’s market last Saturday, and came home with $9 worth of blueberries, peaches, tomatoes, zucchini, and squash. $9 bought more food than I could eat by myself or with one other person. So I cooked a lot with those items and combined them with what I had already gotten early in the week to make the following meals that have tide me over thus far this week:

Soup: Sauteed garlic, remnants of a red onion, carrots, and celery, then added water and lentils and let boil. Once it started boiling I turned it down to simmer and added the sweet potato I had left from the week before, red cabbage, salt, cumin, turmeric, smoke paprika, and two cinnamon sticks. You could really do anything but I wanted to kind of curry it up, but I didn’t have any curry… so I improvised with whatever sounded good at the moment.

                                             

Roasted tomatoes: Roasted at 350 degrees for an hour or two (I lost track of time doing other things while they roasted), with minced garlic, olive oil, dried basil, and rosemary.

Scones: These didn’t last long. I used the recipe from BabyCakes NYC and thought it’d be nice to put in some of those farmer’s market blueberries. (I took a picture… Really, I did… But I know not where it went…)

Oatmeal with blueberries and peaches: I also added some almond milk, sunflower butter, and some ground flax seed. Throughout the week I’ve brought this to school with me and both prepared and ate it cold… which is awesome. It just soaks in the almond milk until I’m ready to eat it and has carried me through hours of classes without break.

Today I’ll hit up another farmer’s market—when you eat mostly produce (as you should), you have to go to the store/farmer’s market a few times a week because it’s not like Twinkies which have a shelf life that surpasses the onset and end of the apocalypse (and oddly don’t sustain or satiate).

Hope everyone is have a great week and I’ll be back to tell you more about food and workouts and the start of school.

Leave a Reply

